Rotary’s role in ending plastic waste

 

What can Rotary Clubs do to end plastic waste? The United Nations Environment Programme suggests a way forward – a way that Clubs can effectively reduce plastic waste, and lead their communities to do the same.

Register to receive a link: 

11am Central Daylight Time (5pm UTC)

  8pm Central Daylight Time (2am UTC)

The ESRAG Plastic Solutions Task Force Meeting will include a presentation on the Role of Rotary Clubs in Ending Plastic Waste by Co-Chair Lori Cloutier.  Following that, Co-Chair Franz Mueller will present Plastic Solution’s goals for 2022-2023.

Speaker Bio: 

Lori Cloutier serves as a Co-Leader of the Plastic Solutions Task Force, a part of Rotary’s Environmental Sustainability Rotary Action Group. The task force is working to address root causes of plastic pollution, and to help develop a global network to rethink and influence how we create, use and dispose of plastic. 

She served as Executive Director of the Rotary Club of Oakland for 25 years.  Today, she is a “civilian” member of the Poulsbo Rotary Club and created the Trash Talk Task Force in 2018.  The Poulsbo Club has diverted more than 40,000 lbs. of plastic from landfill to become composite decking through Trex Company, Inc.  Unfortunately, even as that collection work took place, more than 11,000 million tons, per year, of other plastics entered the ocean.  

Get In Touch

Privacy

2 + 5 =

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This